Portugal Masters. Marc Warren Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Marc Warren has the first round lead in the Portugal Masters at  at Victoria Clube de Golfe.

Portugal Masters

Marc Warren / getty

Marc shot a Portugal Masters first round -8 under par 63 to lead a compacted leaderboard by one shot.

Marc made six birdies in row at the start of his round, which also included a bogey;

“I think I’ve had six or seven in a row but never at the start of the round.”

“It’s an absolutely perfect start. Everything was going right for me, just the right numbers and landing it close and a couple of tap-ins. It was a great start.”

“You really have to control your expectations I think more than anything else. You kind of want to just keep hitting it close and making birdies and realise golf is not that easy.”

“There are going to be a few holes you’re going to have to dig in and overall I was pleased to keep moving forward on the back nine and come back in two under.”

There are five players tied in second place, that one shot back at -7 under par, Eddie PepperellMatthew Baldwin, Callum Shinkwin,  Mikko Kornhonen and David Lipsky.

Eddie is fighting to keep his Tour card, but for the moment he is just enjoying playing golf;

“If I miss the cut this week and bad things happen, I feel like it wouldn’t be a career-defining moment for me whether I lost my card or keep my card.”

“For me it’s getting in the frame of mind, the way I feel like I’m swinging it, I want to go out and win this golf tournament.”

“I want to get to Dubai. I’ve played those events the last two years, so that’s got to be my focus the way I’m playing.”

“If I play well enough, I feel like I give myself a shot at winning and that’s all I can do. Whether I’m 120 on the list or ten, I feel like if I play well, I can win. I’ve just got to make that happen.”

“There’s relief just to be playing decent golf and actually enjoying it. I’ve been very frustrated with the game because I’ve been playing so poorly and I think any of us out here would tell you that.”

Leave a Reply

