Blue Bay LPGA. Two Way Tie at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two ladies tied at the top of the Blue Bay LPGA after 54 holes in China. Jessica Korda and Minjee Lee share the lead. Who said yesterday that Minjee would have a leisurely stroll to the title, (well me actually)

Minjee Lee & Jessica Korda / getty

Minjee Lee & Jessica Korda / getty

Minjee managed to squander a six shot lead, returning a third round score of +1 over par 73. Jessica took full advantage, carding a third round -6 under par 66, to level the scores at the top of the Blue Bay LPGA at -11 under par.

Jessica was the only player in the field to birdie the par four 12th hole today;

“Twelve in general is a really hard hole.”

“You have to land it perfectly at the top to have any shot at that pin staying on the back of the green. It’s really wet back there so you don’t want to have to chip up. It’s not an easy chip.”

“So I was just really happy to be on the green to be honest with you and have some type of putt at it.”

“And being able to birdie it, if that’s what my reaction was, I looked up and down and excited, it was more like a surprise and it was a good surprise.”

“Like I said, it’s a really hard hole and a really hard pin, so you’re thinking par is going to be a great score, and the fact that I actually made birdie I’m like, oh, wow, cool, that’s great.”

Minjee is just hoping for a better day tomorrow;

“It wasn’t windy. It wasn’t that windy today, so I guess you could be a bit more aggressive at the pins.”

“I mean, I wasn’t striking it that well, so I think I just got by, making up-and-down.”

“Yeah, tomorrow is another day, so you never know.”

Ariya Jutanugarn is in third place at -9 under par, following her magnificent third round effort of -7 under 65.

Ariya is playing smart golf, keeping the driver in the bag, she wants to win the Rolex Player of the Year award, and currently holds a four point lead over world number one Lydia Ko, who is not in the field this week;

“I think it’s really important because like the Rolex Player of the Year Award, it’s really an honor to win that one, and I think whoever wins really deserves it, because it’s really the hardest one to win.”

“And of course I want to win when I have a chance.”

“This course, you have to be really patient. I think today I maintained my like emotion to be patient, so I just hit like hit my tee shot good.”

“I just be like waiting for birdies, not really rushing trying to make birdies. Just trying to have fun.”

Leave a Reply

