CIMB Classic. Anirban Ascends The Leaderboard,

White Dragon GolfCIMB Classic

Anirban Lahiri, from India, ascends the CIMB Classic leaderboard, to lead the competition after 54 holes at TPC Kuala Lumpur in Malaysia.

2016 CIMB Classic Golf - Day 3 : News Photo

Anirban Lahiri 

Anirban  shot a third round -7 under par 65 to lead the CIMB Classic with a -19 under par total, and a four-stroke advantage going into the final round tomorrow.

Anirban got over the hurdle of finishing poorly in the previous rounds, with four late birdies today;

“It’s very important. Obviously it was on my mind today, it was on my mind since I finished my round yesterday actually.”

“I was determined to keep my focus right through the 18 holes.”

“I just need to focus on what I need to do. I feel I’m in a good place mentally and physically and with my game, so that’s exactly where you want to be going into tomorrow.”

“I’m not going to think much about where I am but just think about what I need to do.”

Sharing second place are defending champion, Justin Thomas, at -15 under par for the tournament. Justin could only manage -1 under 71 today, he is tied in second with Russell Knox, who carded -4 under 68 today.

Justin admitted he played some poor golf today;

“It was really just terrible golf for the first 13 holes. It was a very weird feeling. I just put myself so far behind the eight-ball.”

“It was great to have that finish. I gave myself a chance. I hope I can ride the momentum into tomorrow.”

“Anirban is playing great. It’s the best I’ve seen him play. He just made it look so simple. I didn’t realise he made nine birdies until we finished.”

Derek Fathauer, -4 under 68 today, James Hahn, -3 under 69 and Hideki Matsuyama, -3 under 69, share fourth position at -14 under par.

Leave a Reply

