Portugal Masters. Two at the Top

 

White Dragon Golf

 

There are two players at the top of the Portugal Masters leaderboard, Marc Warren and Andy Sullivan,  at Victoria Clube de Golfe.

Portugal Masters

Andy Sullivan / getty

Andy carded -10 under par 61 on day two of the Portugal Masters, to share top spot on the leaderboard with Marc, who had -6 under par 65, both players on-14 under par for the 36 holes.

Andy had been suffering with a cold putter of late, but not today;

“I knew I needed to go low today to get a beat on the leaders.”

“So to go out there and shoot that score is absolutely fantastic. I had thoughts of 59 coming down the stretch there, but it wasn’t to be.”

“It’s fantastic being on top of the leaderboard and giving myself a chance going into the weekend. The game’s felt good for a long time.”

“The putter’s just been a bit cold and today I just holed a couple of good putts out there just to get the momentum going. It only takes a couple of putts to go in and you start seeing it go in all the time.”

“More of the same for me. I know last year, I was aggressive the whole way around and I know I’ve got to be aggressive again.”

Marc was happy to be still in contention;

“I’m really pleased, it’s always tough to follow up a really good score like yesterday.”

“It was good, I tried to stay as patient as I possibly could out there and nice to finish with a three at the last.”

“I had a good finish at the Alfred Dunhill Links Championship, I feel as if a bit of pressure has come off and I can look forward and try to qualify for some events at the end of the year.”

“It’s a much nicer place to be playing your golf, as opposed to looking backwards all the time.”

Jens Fahbring, -7 under 64 today and Major winner Padraig Harrington, -8 under 63 are tied in third place at -13 under par, just one shot back.

Padraig had nine birdies, one bogey, with the round highlighted by a bladed chip-in on the 11th hole  and a 42-foot putt on the 16th green.

Leave a Reply

