CIMB Classic. Jumping Jehosaphat It’s Justin Again.

White Dragon GolfCIMB Classic

Jumping Jehosaphat it’s Justin Thomas again as he defends his title at the CIMB Classic in style at TPC Kuala Lumpur on the West Course, in Malaysia.

CIMB Classic

Justin Thomas

Justin, from the USA, carded -8 under par 64 in the final round of the CIMB Classic, to easily retain his title with a -23 under total, and a three shot victory.

He said it was a fun day, especially the birdie putts on 16,17 and 18;

“It was obviously a fun day. It couldn’t have happened if it wasn’t for my finish yesterday.”

“That was huge for me and put me in a good position to have a chance to win today. I definitely owe a lot of it to that.”

“But yeah, it was a very easy day, I guess you could say. Those up-and-downs on 12 and 13 were huge. I really just laid the sod over a wedge on 12 and hit a good drive on 13, but those two up-and-downs were good to get me a little bit of a lead.”

“Those putts on 16, 17, were nice to give me a little cushion going into 18.

” It’s great to win again here. It’s obviously a place I’m very comfortable with and I think a lot of that is because of just everything that goes on here.”

In second place was Hideki Matsuyama, from Japan, with a -20 under par total, after his last round -6 under 66;

“I played well. I hoped to make a charge earlier but it didn’t happen, but I got it around.”

Tied in third place were Derek Fathauer, USA, -5 under 67 today, and the man who should have won, starting the round with a four shot lead, Anirban Lahiri, from India.

It all went wrong for Anirban on the par five 3rd hole, carding an eight, while Justin made birdie four. He never really recovered, finishing the day with an even par 72.

Anirban reflected on his terrible day;

Disappointment obviously. It was obviously a harder start. I got unlucky with the tee shot and just compounded my errors.”

“My short game again, coming up a little bit to bite me.”

But obviously I tried my best. I fought back as best I could, but I just couldn’t get the putts to fall on the back nine.”

“I had numerous lipouts and then just really disappointed that I didn’t birdie 17 or 18 or even 16, for that matter. Just didn’t get the numbers right with my wedges. I didn’t hit them close. It’s very disappointing.”

“I would have obviously liked to have gotten over the line, but it’s a tough pill to swallow.”

Leave a Reply

