WGC HSBC Champions.Rikard Karlberg Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Rikard Karlberg leads the WGC HSBC Champions after the first round  at Sheshan International Golf Club in Shanghai, China.

Karlberg takes lead in China

Rikard Karlberg / getty

Rikard, competing in his first WGC HSBC Champions event shot an opening round -8 under 64, to top the leaderboard;

“It was great, I know the kind of weather this has been, it’s going to be wet and you just need to be aggressive, bomb to the tee and bomb to the pin, and that’s what I did today.”

“I had great distance control. I hit great shots all day except the last hole and it was a great day.”

“It felt amazing on every part of the game. Everything was so easy.”

“It was just one of those days, it was a walk in the park. I committed to a lot of shots, hit them perfect, just as I wanted and I stayed aggressive on my putting all the way around, which I feel was good.”

Sitting in second place, just one shot behind is Rickie Fowler, with a bogey free -7 under 65.

Defending Champion Russell Knox, Daniel Berger and Hideki Matsuyama all share third place at -6 under par following their opening rounds of 66.

World number three Rory McIlroy had a -1  under par 71, not such a good start.

Leave a Reply

