WGC HSBC Champions. Hideki Matsuyama With 36 Hole Lead.

White Dragon Golf

Hideki Matsuyama, from Japan, has the 36 hole lead at the WGC HSBC Champions at Sheshan International Golf Club in China.

WGC HSBC Champions

Hideki Matsuyama / getty

Hideki shot a wonderful  second round of -7 under par 65 to hold the 36 hole lead in the WGC HSBC Champions, giving him a tournament total -13 under par, and will take a three shot advantage into the week-end.

Hideki has not played well here in previous years, but putted well today;

“I haven’t really played well here before.”

“So before coming here, I was a little bit nervous again thinking, maybe it’s not going to be a good week for me.”

“But then I decided, oh, wait a minute, let’s just have fun this week. It’s made a difference.”

“I have been playing well but really, today, I hit some good second shots and made some putts and that’s what made the round score well for me.”

Defending Champion Russell Knox, -4 under 68 today and Bill Haas, -5 under 67, share second place at -10 under par.

Russell told reporters about the low temperature, and how he was used to it, coming from Scotland;

“I’m thrilled, conditions were extremely difficult and I played well.”

I had a couple of chances there at the end which I would have loved to have made but it was hard out there.”

“I was a little cold but I’m built for this. As much as I would say I don’t enjoy playing in this, I’m good at it.”

“So I hope it’s like this on the weekend. You have to try and find your edge.”

“So if you have a good attitude when the weather gets bad like that, you can maybe pick up half a shot mentally.”

Tied in fourth position, at -8 under are, Francesco Molinari, -3 under 69 second round, Richard Bland, -4 under 68 and Daniel Berger, -2 under 70 today.

Making up ground today was Rory McIlroy, -6 under 66, he shares seventh place with Paul Casey, -2 under 70, Ross Fisher, -4 under 68 and best placed Chinese player Xinjun Zhang, -3 under 69.

Rory made seven birdies against one bogey today, with his putter working well.

 

Leave a Reply

