Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open. Olafia Has 36 Hole Lead.

White Dragon GolfFatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open

Olafia Kristinsdottir, a rookie from Iceland, has the 36 hole lead in the Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open, in Turkey.

Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open

Olafia Kristinsdottir / getty

Olafia had a -6 under par 66 in the second round, following her -7 under 65 in the first to lead the  Fatima Bint Mubarak Ladies Open, with a 36 hole total of -13 under par.

The rookie Olafia intends to stay calm, not let the pressure get to her;

“I’m the one who decides if I let it affect me, so I did everything the same as yesterday with no added pressure.”

“I wasn’t really nervous and I was surprised, because it was so fun yesterday.”

“The whole of Iceland was really excited for me and my phone was exploding, so I thought, ‘I need to stay calm’, and I managed to do it, so it was really good.”

Georgia Hall, England, scored a women’s course record of -8 under par 64 to share second place with compatriot Holly Clyburn -6 under 66 today, Gwladys Nocera, France also 66 and Beth Allen of the United States -4 under 68, all on 10-under-par.

Georgia concentrated on making birdies;

 “I’m very happy because there were no bogeys and I played really well.”

“Everything glued together and I had fun out there. I didn’t think of my score at all, I was just trying to make birdie after birdie.”

Gwladys made one of the longest putts of her career;

“I was hitting the ball close to the pin and then I made one of the longest putts I’ve made in my career across the green on the 12th, so it was really fun.”

“I’m hitting the ball really well and my iron shots are good.”

“The scores are so low, I never thought they’d be so low, but the greens really hold the ball well.”

Leave a Reply

