Shriners Hospitals for Children Open. Bad Light Stops Play.

White Dragon GolfShriners Hospitals for Child

The Shriners Hospitals for Children Open was halted in round one due to darkness at TPC Summerlin in Las Vegas, where Rod Pampling had a chance of  59.

The 11-under 60 in his opening round was Pampling's best round ever on the PGA TOUR. (Steve Dykes/Getty Images)

Rod Pampling, from Australia / getty

Rod had a par on the last before singing for a -11 under par 60 on the TPC Summerlin course in the  Shriners Hospitals for Children Open.

He spoke about the missed opportunities, and the tap in Eagle on the par five 16th;

“Just one of those as soon as I hit it, I knew it was good, didn’t know it was that good where I could just tap it in, but I knew it was good.”

“The putt on 17 just fell short in the jaws and on 18 I gave myself a bad read.”

“I thought it was straight, but it just had that little left to right.”

“I studied the hole a lot, and I looked at the book, all these new books have the slopes and everything in it.”

“I was looking at it and making sure I was spot on.”

“My eyes were telling me it was pretty straight. I hit it straight. It was on line when it started.”

“It just had a little tail on it. I’m glad I gave it a chance. It didn’t come up short. I just picked a bad line.”

John Huh and Brooks Koepka share second place, at -9 under, two shots back of the leader, after their opening rounds of 62.

Brooks was happy with his putting today;

“I obviously made a lot of putts today.”

“I feel like I was striking the ball well. Speed was a lot better than it was last week.”

“So grinded hard early on in the week making sure the putting was right, and it showed today.”

John said he was able to put himself into good positions today;

“If you put yourself in position, I think you can score low.”

 “If you don’t, then you’re going to struggle. I was able to put myself in a good spots.”

Billy Horschel is fourth, at -7 under after his -7 under 64, he was also happy to get his putter working;

“Been working really hard, it was nice to see the putter working.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

