TOTO Japan Classic. Shanshan Shines.

White Dragon Golf

Shanshan Feng shines at the TOTO Japan Classic topping the leaderboard with a new tournament record of -8 under par 64  at Taiheiyo Club Minori Course in Japan.

Shanshan & Ariya / getty

Shanshan’s bogey free-8 under 64 gave her a one shot lead at the top of the TOTO Japan Classic with a -11 under par total.

Shanshan said her putting was the difference now;

“Right now my confidence level is pretty high, I know how to score.”

“The reason why I struggled in the first half of the year, I was actually hitting the ball pretty well but I didn’t know how to score.”

“Now the putting is working and even though I leave myself a 15-footer for birdie I feel comfortable to make it. So now I feel a lot more comfortable and confident on the course.”

Ariya Jutanugarn is in second place at -10 under par, her second round -4 under 68 keeping her in touch with the leader.

Ariya’s putting deserted her on the back nine;

“Front nine I made a lot of putts, so I made a few birdies.”

“The back nine my putting wasn’t that good but overall it was pretty good, my putting was just ok today.”

Third place is shared between Suzann Pettersen, -6 under 66 today, and Soo-Yun Kang, -3 under 69, both ladies are at -9 under for the competition.

Leave a Reply

