TOTO Japan Classic. Shanshan Wins in a Tight Finish.

White Dragon Golf

Shanshan Feng wins the TOTO Japan Classic, in a tight finish at Taiheiyo Club Minori Course in Japan, and back to back victories.

TOTO Japan Classix

Shanshan Feng

Shanshan was cruising to victory in the TOTO Japan Classic, teeing off the last with a comfortable three shot advantage at -15 under par. A wayward tee shot put her into the tree’s resulting in a double bogey six, and a one shot win at -13 under par, with a last round -2 under 70.

Shanshan said her recent good form started with her Bronz at the Olympics;

“When I was in Rio I didn’t set any goals but I knew all of the Chinese people would be watching so I made sure that I should be smiling whether I was playing well or not.”

“That really helped, because I think I had other mind sets, so I actually brought out my A-game again.”

“I finished 3rd and got my bronze medal at the Olympics and I really got my confidence back after that so I know that I’m still Shanshan and I can still win.”

Pushing hard all the way was Ha Na Jang, a final round -4 under par 68 getting her close to the leader, and in the end very close, finishing in second place at -12 under.

Tied in third at -10 under par were, best placed home player Kotone Hori, -4 under par 68 today, So Yeon Ryu,-4 under 68, defending champion Sun-Ju Ahn, -2 under 70, and Soo-Yun Kang, -1 under par 71.

 

Leave a Reply

