Turkish Airlines Open. Thorbjørn Olesen In Cruise Control.

White Dragon Golf

Thorbjørn Olesen is in cruise control at the Turkish Airlines Open, and will take a seven shot lead into the final round.

Turkish Airlines Open

Thorbjørn Olesen / getty

Thorbjørn carded -3 under par 68 to extend his  lead to seven shots at the top of the Turkish Airlines Open leaderboard at -18 under par at Regnum Carya Golf & Spa Resort in Turkey;

“I’ve never had a seven-shot lead, I felt a bit nervous when I went out today also because I’ve never been that many shots clear.”

“It’s a bit of a weird feeling but I know it’s not easy and there’s a bunch of guys there and it’s possible to shoot a really low one out here.”

“I’ll stay aggressive tomorrow and keep plugging away.”

“This is the Final Series and it’s a massive event and obviously it would be great to win it.”

“There’s still 18 holes left and I really have to stay concentrated out there and stay in my own little zone.”

Sharing second place those distant seven strokes back at -11 under par are, David Horsey, -3 under 68 today, Li Haotong,-3 under 68, David Lipsky, -5 under 66, Matteo Manassero, -3 under 68 and Bernd Wiesberger, -5 under 66. All of these guys will have to go extra low tomorrow if they want to win this trophy.

What they said about tomorrow;

David Horsey 

“I’ll do a bit of work now and hopefully pull it off tomorrow. I’ve just got to go very low, make a lot of birdies.”

“He seems to be in control of his game and ultimately we’ve got to try and put some pressure on him somehow and hopefully he’ll falter.”

“But at the end of the day, we can’t control what he does. Just got to go out there and try to shoot a score and see what happens at the end of the day.”

Li Haotong 

“I think if I can be top five after tomorrow, that would be great. He’s playing so well that you must beat him this week. I’ll just play well myself and enjoy this week. That’s all.”

David Lipsky 

“I played pretty well today. I left a few out there coming down the stretch but overall I’m really happy with how I played and gave myself lots of chances for birdies today.”

“It’s sort of like without Thorbjørn, it’s a good tournament.”

“I just thought, look at second place as winning right now. That was my goal, to just put myself in position on Sunday to finish as high as I can.”

Matteo Manassero 

“I was playing to try and make as many birdies as I could.”

“I think at one point we got kind of close but I could never really hit it close enough to have good opportunities on the back nine.”

“I wouldn’t say I was playing for second. I was trying to close the gap a little bit but I couldn’t.”

“Of course I could have done better today but I’m happy with where I’m standing and we’ll see what happens tomorrow. Again, he’s playing great, and if he keeps playing like this, obviously he 110 per cent deserves to win this tournament.”

Bernd Wiesberger 

“I don’t think I could have shot any worse today, I played in control except for that last hole. It’s a shame to finish a round off like this but all in all it was a good day, loads of chances.”

“It feels like I didn’t take advantage of the par fives all week, so if I can do that tomorrow, there’s another good one in me.”

“We’ll see how it turns out at the end of the day. He’s definitely playing really well. I need to make a fast start and try to put the pressure on him. If I can do that, you never know.”

 

Leave a Reply

