Nedbank Golf Challenge. Three Way Tie at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There is a three-way tie at the top of the Nedbank Golf Challenge at Gary Player Country Club in South AfricaFelipe Aguilar, ChileRoss Fisher, England and Jeunghun Wang from South Korea.

Nedbank Golf Challenge

Jeunghun Wang / getty

Jeunghun, Ross and Felipe all carded -4 under par 68 in the first round of the Nedbank Golf Challenge in Sun City.

Jeunghun had one bogey today, but was pleased he putted well;

“I did really good putts today, I made a lot of one-putts and great, big saves.”

“So I’m trying to save my birdies and keep making pars. I did well today.”

“When I played my practice round, it was really tough. I feel it’s really tough.”

“But now I’m playing the tournament, I feel a little bit easier. I’m hoping to get better and better.”

Felipe is concentrating on strategic play in the tough conditions;

“I didn’t expect it actually, the course wasn’t playing very easy.”

“We have to start with the fact the course is not easy. It’s very difficult for me to judge distance because of the altitude, so I’m quite happy with today’s round.”

“I try to be very strategic. I don’t go for every single hole out here. It worked out today and hopefully it will work out for the next three days.”

Ross was working hard to make birdies;

“I was working my butt off to birdie the last I have to say, I wanted to try to make birdie because I let a few chances slip on the back side.”

“I’m still of the mindset to go out there and attack and try and make as many birdies as I can and try and shoot as low a possible score that I can.”

Henrik Stenson is keeping his mind on winning the Race to Dubai title, he sits in a large group at -3 under par after his 1st round 69. His nearest challenger for that title is Danny Willett, the 2016 Masters Champion had a miserable day signing for +3 over par 75, which included an 8 at the par five second hole.

Henrik told reporters;

“I just want to play as well as I can for these two weeks and see where it takes me,”

“Of course you’re always going to look a little bit and see what the other guys are doing but at the end of the day I’ve got to focus on my game and I managed to do that.”

“So I’m happy with the day’s work.”

Leave a Reply

