OHL Classic at Mayakoba. Chris Kirk 63 Opening Round.

White Dragon GolfOHL Classic at Mayakoba

Chris Kirk shot 63 in the opening round of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba in  Playa del Carmen, Mexico.

Chris Kirk polished off a first round 63 following a bogey-free round in Mexico.(Tim Bradbury/Getty Images)

Chris Kirk / getty

Chris signed for  a bogey free -8 under par 63 on the El Camaleon course at the  OHL Classic at Mayakoba, to top the leaderboard by one shot;

“I don’t think anybody’s comfort’s really that high.”

“I definitely drove the ball well today. Just trying to stick to my sort of go to shot and hit draws out there for the most part.”

“It’s definitely intimidating off the tee a little bit, but thankfully I hit a lot of good ones today.”

“I just played pretty terrible over the weekend in Vegas, but I think I was just a little bit tired.”

“So thankfully, I came and took Monday and Tuesday completely off and didn’t touch a club and just tried to relax, and now I feel kind of re-energized and ready to play again. “

“No, I definitely wasn’t expecting to shoot 63 today, but happy I did.”

Tied in second place at -7 under after shooting 64 are, Ben Crane, Camilo Villegas and Gary Woodland.

Ben referred to tight fairways, describing the first cut as jungle;

“This is a very tight golf course, maybe 10 to 15 yards of rough on each side, it’s just jungle, right?”

“When you get some crosswinds, you’ve got to hit solid tee shots and you’ve got to really control your ball.”

“You really want to be able to flight your ball because you really don’t want to be curving it down on that crosswind downwind, right, because it’s going to curve so much.”

Best placed home player is Abraham Ancer, in a six-way tie for fifth place at -6 under following his 66, which should have been better, carding a bogey at the last;

“It’s huge. It’s awesome playing in Mexico in front of my people.”

“I don’t want to get ahead of myself and I obviously want to play well, but it would be awesome to finish up there at the end of the tournament.”

Leave a Reply

