Hero Women’s Indian Open. Indian teenager Aditi Ashok Leads

White Dragon Golf

 Indian teenager Aditi Ashok leads the Hero Women’s Indian Open after 36 holes  at DLF Golf and Country Club in India.

Hero Women's Indian Open

Aditi Ashok / getty

Much to the delight of home fans, Aditi Ashok holds the 36 hole lead at the Hero Women’s Indian Open, shooting a second round -3 under par 69 to top the leaderboard with that score on the extremely challenging Gary Player designed course. Aditi now has the opportunity to become the first Indian player to win on the Ladies European Tour.

The 18-year-old Aditi is full of confidence, and is going to concentrate on not dropping any shots from here on, and not missing any putts;

“I’ve made enough birdies in both of the rounds so I’m going to focus on not dropping any shots.”

“I was really sharp on the back nine, I hit all nine greens, so I had a lot of chances for birdie and I made five of them.”

“It could have been better on the front nine, because I had a double bogey on the ninth with my fifty degree, but I was in the wrong spot off the tee and it’s tough to hit that pin from the rough.”

“I missed a few putts on the front nine and some short birdie putts but I made up for it on the back nine.”

“I’ve got more comfortable over the week, from all the practice rounds, so I think it’s much better and the greens are softer than last year.”

Tied in second place at, two shots back are Belen Mozo, from Spain, -2 under 70 today, Emily Kristine Pedersen, Denmark, even par 72, and one of the 1st round leaders Christine Wolf, Austria, who carded +1 over par 73.

Christine is trying to have fun out on the tough course;

“I gave myself some chances but unfortunately didn’t make any of them.”

“There were some birdies out there, but anything can happen on this course so we’ll see on this course, anything can happen tomorrow.”

“I’m going to try to have fun.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

