OHL Classic at Mayakoba. Gary Leads Into Final Round

White Dragon GolfOHL Classic at Mayakoba

Gary Woodland leads into the final round of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba, in Mexico.

OHL At Mayakoba - Round Three : News Photo

Gary Woodland

Newly Married Gary shot a -5 under par third round 66 to stay on top of the OHL Classic at Mayakoba with a -18 under par total. Had one bogey today, on 15, but will take a one shot lead into the final round tomorrow;

“I’ve been there. I’ve been in the position a lot the last couple years.”

“I’m excited about my game, I’m going to rely on my game and trust it and go out and have fun.”

“I’m very comfortable with where my golf swing is and I’m going to rely on it and run it out.”

“I’m happy. I mean, I played great today. Drove the ball exceptionally well, controlled my distances to the green, and I rolled it well.”

“It’s hard to argue with that, hard to be upset with that. I hit a good shot on 15. I just hit it long.”

Pat Perez is in second place at -17 under par, -9 under par 62 elevating up the leaderboard, and he is now feeling comfortable after 9 months out after shoulder surgery;

“I was real comfortable, I woke up and I just felt good.”

“I was comfortable on the range. I’ve just been on this different attitude in the last couple weeks where I just try to stay aggressive and try to think of the right shot and the good shot and not worry about what happens.”

“It’s really worked. I’ve been working on that the last nine months since I got hurt.”

Scott Piercy holds third spot on his own at -16 under par, with a -5 under 66 today.

Sadly for the home crowd Abraham Ancer shot +3 over 74 to drop out of the race for the title, now at -6 under for the tournament, and T 48.

 

Leave a Reply

