Citibanamex Lorena Ochoa Invitational, Carlota Wins Again.

White Dragon Golf

Carlota Ciganda wins again, this time the Citibanamex Lorena Ochoa Invitational in Mexico.

 Citibanamex Lorena Ochoa Invitational

Carlota Ciganda / getty

Carlota, from Spain, carded a final round -4 under par 68 to win the  Citibanamex Lorena Ochoa Invitational with a -13 under total, a two shot winning margin;

“I am very happy to be here and to get my second victory, it’s wonderful to play here in Mexico and I honestly don’t have any words.”

“I love the golf course, the people, it’s an honor to be here. I’ve been playing really good all year long and to end this year with these two victories gives me a lot of confidence, I am very happy.”

Five ladies were tied in second place at -11 under par, Austin Ernst, U.S.A. -1 under 71 today, Sarah Jane Smith, Australia, -2 under 70, Angela Stanford, U.S.A. -3 under 69, Karine Icher, France -3 under 69 and Jodi Ewart Shadoff from England, -5 under 67.

Austin was disappointed with her result;

“Right now, I’m disappointed. I just didn’t play well enough to get it done.”

 “I am just kind of frustrated with how I finished.”

Karine  used a caddie this week, who has been at the Club De Golf Mexico for more than 30 years ;

“I have no words in Spanish and he doesn’t speak any in English.”

“When you want to see the line, you motion to say ‘this matches’ more and ‘that’s OK.”

“Sometimes I saw maybe it was left-to-right, and it was actually right-to-left, so yes, he was helpful.”

Angela rued the three putts,

It was a good day. It’s hard to shoot 3-under on Sunday and be upset, but I had those three-putts.”

“The one on 11 would probably haunt me for a while, but I hit the ball really well and gave myself a lot of chances.”

“I was never in a bad spot, so to be in contention and have a day like this is pretty encouraging.”

Leave a Reply

