OHL Classic at Mayakoba. Pat Perez Wins.

White Dragon GolfOHL Classic at Mayakoba

Pat Perez wins the  OHL Classic at Mayakoba in Mexico.

Perez wins OHL Classic, first since '09

Pat Perez / getty

Pat, with his shoulder surgery now a thing of the past, shot -4 under 67 to win the OHL Classic at Mayakoba, with a -21 under par tournament total, a two shot victory.

Pat spoke about his great putting;

“I had an attitude that I can’t really repeat, but I had a lot of thoughts going on.”

“The main one was I wanted to stay aggressive. I knew if I just stayed aggressive I was seeing the line great on the putting green.”

“This type of grass and these greens, if you can get it on line you can make them.”

“I just saw the line, I thought I could make them all and I just had a confidence.”

“You’ve got to make a lot of putts, you need some help from other players.”

“It’s everything. It’s so hard to win. But I just had this different look about it this week and I’ll hopefully carry that through for a while.”

“I had an entirely different attitude than I would have had a few years ago. It was definitely a different win than last time.”

“Last time, I was a little more scared coming down the stretch. I didn’t really believe and this and that. This time, I really had like this calmness, kind of like a madness to get it done.”

Gary Woodland finished in second place at -19 under par, a last round -1 under 70 not what he was looking for.

Russell Knox was third at -18 under par after a -5 under par finishing round of 66;

“I wasn’t all that comfortable out there.”

“This course kind of makes you put the steer on sometimes, but I made seven birdies.”

“A couple mistakes, but overall starting the day I would have taken 66.”

Leave a Reply

