DP World Tour Championship. Lee Westwood Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Lee Westwood leads the DP World Tour Championship in Dubai.

DP World Tour Championship

Lee Westwood / getty

Lee carded an opening round -6 under par 66 at Jumeirah Golf Estates to top the DP World Tour Championship leaderboard in this season ending event;

“This is as good as I’ve played for quite some time.”

“I’ve found a couple of keys in different parts of my game and I’ve been working on them hard. It all came together today.”

“A 66 is a good round of golf. It didn’t seem that easy out there.”

“Some days you feel like there’s a lot of birdies out there but today I think was a pretty stiff test. They took the flags away a little bit. Didn’t seem like many first day flags out there and I managed my game well.”

“It’s a golf course I’ve played well on in the past and I’ve had quite a few good results here other than the win and played pretty well in the desert. I’ve been looking forward to this week.”

“2009 is certainly in the top two or three performances in my career, maybe even best performance of my career, knowing that I needed to win to beat Rory in the Race to Dubai, and I did that by six and pretty much dominated the field over the weekend. It’s right up there.”

Tied in second place at -5 under par are  Nicolas Colsaerts, who was bogey free and Julien Quesne.

Nicolas said he had missed a few short putts today;

“You know what? I left a lot of them out there, this could have been a really low one. This could have been eight or nine, easy.”

“I missed short ones on my early holes on the back nine but I was pretty happy with the display. I didn’t really hit that many bad shots.”

“The ones where I could go at pins turned out to be very close. It was just a flawless round of golf.”

“When you play that well, you want to squeeze every shot you can out of it but I’m happy with the way I played and I’m confident I can keep rolling like this.

Julien was happy to have putted well;

“I made a lucky birdie on the 14th, just a recovery shot and the ball finished three metres from the flag. I was hoping to have a par and made a birdie here, so it was good.”

“I made a two-metre putt on 17 and a two-metre putt on 18, so my putting was good today.

Rory McIlroy slumped to +3 over par 75 today, is he using different clubs?

Leave a Reply

