CME Group Championship. Lydia Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Lydia Ko, the world number one lead the CME Group Championship after 36 holes in Florida, in the Race to the CME Globe.

CME Group Championship

Lydia Ko / getty

Lydia shot a record breaking -10 under par 62 to vault to the top of the CME Group Championship leaderboard, and will have a three stroke advantage over the field going into the week-end.

Lydia had been working with coach David Leadbetter, he showed her a video of her first hole in one, that was the catalyst to fire up her inspiration;

“Brings back a lot of great memories. Even though that moment I really didn’t expect to make a hole-in-one. I got so close so many times. To know my first hole-in-one would be at the Olympics, it was something I couldn’t have ever dreamt of.”

“To see that swing, you know, I was hitting the ball really well at the Olympics. It gave me all the positive thoughts.”

“I hit the ball pretty well yesterday. He said, I think we only need a few minutes and we’ll be okay.”

“I think hopefully that will give me good momentum going into the weekend.”

“I mean, I started off kind of average yesterday, but I was able to fight back. I think that gave me good momentum going into today.”

“For me to win player the year I know I need to win this championship.”

“ A lot of things come with that.”

Tied in second place at -9 under are, Ryann O’Toole, -5 under 67 today, and So Yeon Ryu -4 under 68.

So Yeon changed her putting attitude;

“I actually like judge myself to, ‘Oh, the bad putter. I’m bad putter.’ Then all of a sudden somehow I was able to switch my mind to, ‘Okay, I’m great putter. I’m not a bad putter.’

“Then after my change my attitude I feel more comfortable to be on the putting green.”

“So Yeon, when you’re on the putting green you just think this green is yours. You can actually communicate with the green and do everything great on the green.”

“So I started to have this attitude on the green and then I am playing well right now.”

Ryann also has a charged up attitude;

“You see someone up at the top and you go, Okay, I can do it. I’m not going to let them beat me kind of thing.”

“If you’re playing well and the game is there, it’s a lot easier to have that mentality. Sometimes chasing can kill you if you’re not striking it well or anything like that.”

“Then you’re getting a head of yourself, yeah, this is comfortable zone for her.”

“At the same time, who is more hungry? I think I’m going to kind of go with that. Who wants it?”

Yesterdays leader Shanshan Feng went backwards today, +1 over par 73, to slip down the table at -5 under and T 16.

 

Leave a Reply

