DP World Tour Championship, Sergio & Francesco In Front.

White Dragon Golf

Sergio Garcia, from Spain and Francesco Molinari, Italy are in front at the half-way stage of the DP World Tour Championship at the Jumeirah Golf Estates, in Dubai.

 DP World Tour Championship

Sergio Garcia / getty

Sergio and Francesco both shot -5 under par 67 to lead the  DP World Tour Championship with -9 under totals.

Sergio had one bogey, and some iffy putts;

“I felt like I was swinging the club really, really well.”

“I was hitting a lot of good shots. I hit a couple of iffy putts here and there but I made some really good ones, also. I was very happy to see all of that.”

“I’m excited about it. It’s good to be out there with a chance the last tournament of the year. I just want to make sure that I keep playing the same way I’ve played these first two days and see where that takes us.”

 DP World Tour Championship

Francesco Molinari / getty

Francesco said he will repeat the same performance tomorrow;

“Just keep doing the same and hopefully I’ll get a similar result tomorrow.”

“I’m happy. It was another good day, it’s very early, obviously, but it’s nice to keep building a nice good round after good round.”

Yesterday’s leader Lee Westwood is in third place at -8 under par, after his second round score -2 under 70.

In the overall contest to win the Race to Dubai, the current leader Henrik Stenson, from Sweden, remained in top spot after he fired a -3 under par 69 to sit at -3 under for the tournament T 17, the same score as number two Danny Willett who carded -2 under par 70 today.

Defending champion Rory McIlroy followed his disappointing opening  round +3 over 75 with a -4 under 68 for a tournament total of -1 under par and T 29.

Race to Dubai

 

Leave a Reply

