The RSM Classic. Mackenzie Hughes Holds On.

 

White Dragon GolfThe RSM Classic

Mackenzie Hughes holds on to The RSM Classic lead, having played 54 holes at Sea Island.

Hughes leads after 54 holes

Mackenzie Hughes / getty

Mackenzie, from Canada, had a third round -2 under par 68 on the Seaside Course, to hold on to the lead in The RSM Classic with a -16 under par total.

His lead would have been bigger except for a brain fade, he had gone bogey-free for the first 46 holes, and then threw in a triple bogey seven at the par four 11th, a complete comedy of errors;

“I was like, this hole is never going to end.”

“It finally did, and it worked out all right.”

“It was nice to bounce back and to feel like I’m going this way, not stepping back.”

“Everyone will be fighting the same nerves.”

Camillo Villegas , -6 under 64, Billy Horschel, -5 under 65, and Cheng Tsung Pan -3 under 67, all share second place at -15 under par.

Billy is hoping his experience will help him tomorrow;

“There’s some young guys up there on the leaderboard that haven’t been in ; obviously they’ve won other times, but out on the PGA TOUR it’s a little bit different.”

“But it all depends on what kind of conditions we get. I would like to have similar conditions today because I think the better player shows up in these conditions.”

Camillo has gone two years without a victory;

“Let me tell you something, it’s 18 more holes of golf. I’m feeling good.”

“I’ve been a lot more comfortable than I have been. I think it’s all about having the mind in the right place.”

“My shots when I’m calm out there are pretty good and hopefully we can accomplish that tomorrow.”

“I think the leaderboard is jam-packed as always. We’re playing the PGA TOUR, the best players in the world, but I’ve got to wake up tomorrow believing I can do it.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

