DP World Tour Championship. Matt Fitzpatrick Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Matt Fitzpatrick wins the DP World Tour Championship, while Henrik Stenson claims his second  Race to Dubai title.

 DP World Tour Championship

Matt Fitzpatrick / getty

Matt had a final round -5 under 67 to post a  DP World Tour Championship winning total of -17 under par, sinking a clutch birdie putt on the 18th, for a one shot victory;

“Four footers aren’t normally what you want for the win but to finish it off like that makes it a lot sweeter.”

“It means the world. To win one of these Final Series events is really special, and this one in particular, obviously the last tournament of the year.”

“For me to win on the final week of the year is special.”

“It’s been a long year for me, and I’ve got to admit, this is just icing on the cake as a year goes. It’s been a great one.”

Tyrrell Hatton was second at -16 under par, he too had birdied the last, but to no avail, his last round -4 under 68 just a bit short on the Jumeirah Golf Estates course;

“Obviously it’s a bitter pill to swallow, but it’s been a great week and for me it’s been the best year of my life. So I can’t get too downbeat, but these things happen.”

“You know, it is what it is and I’m happy with how the week went. I’m sure hopefully in the future, I’ll take my next chance.”

Charl Schwartzel shot -5 under 67 to finish in third place at -14 under par.

Race to Dubai

Henrik Stenson / getty

Henrik won the Race to Dubai title, for the second time, he cruised through the final round carding -7 under par 65, the same total as the defending champion Rory McIlroy, they both finished T9 in the competition.

Henrik spoke about his great year;

“I’m very pleased to get my name on this trophy once again.”

“It’s been a great year, the best year of my career. I’ve always thought it was going to be hard to top 2013, but I think I’ve done that this year.”

“Maybe not to the level of golf over six months, but certainly with the highlights of winning The Open, the Olympics and managed to win the Race to Dubai again.”

“So it’s been a great year and it feels lovely to finish in this way.”

Leave a Reply

