Qatar Ladies Open. Two Tied at the Top

White Dragon Golf

Lydia Hall from Wales and Noora Tamminen of Finland share the lead at the Qatar Ladies Open, at Doha Golf Club.

Qatar Ladies Open

Noora Tamminen / getty

Lydia and Noora both had bogey free opening rounds -5 under par 67 to top the Qatar Ladies Open leaderboard.

Lydia is playing and putting well;

“It was really solid out there today. I think I hit 17 greens in regulation and got my putter going throughout the middle part of the round, so I’m playing well.”

“I’ve been playing well all year really, after injury last year. I came back with a fresh set of eyes. I’ve been focusing on playing rather than on technical things.”

Noora is feeling confident;

“I felt really confident and calm this morning. My long game was super good and I hit all the greens. I had some bad drives but they weren’t that bad, so it was a steady round.”

“I just want to enjoy the game and have no pressure. I really like playing in the Middle East. Everything is well organised and I love that we have Abu Dhabi and this one. I really like the course and that you have to be good from the tee.”

Kylie Walker is tied in third place with Anna Nordqvist, both at -4 under par.

Kylie was happy with her play today;

“Hole 16 is a driveable par four so I just got it on the front edge and two putted. I hit it in close on 17 and holed a good seven, eight footer.”

“Then the last, we were having to play it in three because the wind was hurting but I holed a good 15 footer.”

Anna likes the course;

“I think it’s a great golf course, I really do. There are a couple of small dog legs and you’re trying to cut the corners off the tee.”

“The rough is not where you want to be on this course, it’s very unpredictable, so I feel I’ll have a better idea for the lines and lay-up areas.”

“I short sided myself a little on 18, a little too far back. The course is great and the greens are a little slow but that makes you be aggressive and hit the putts firmly.”

“I like this place, I think it’s a great layout and I look forward to playing the next couple of days.”

Leave a Reply

