ISPS HANDA World Cup of Golf. Søren and Thorbjørn Deliver for Denmark

White Dragon Golf

 Søren Kjeldsen and Thorbjørn Olesen deliver the ISPS HANDA World Cup of Golf, a first for Denmark, in a  four-shot victory at Kingston Heath Golf Club.

 ISPS HANDA World Cup of Golf

Søren Kjeldsen and Thorbjørn Olesen / getty

Søren and Thorbjørn carded -6 under par 66 today to claim the  ISPS HANDA World Cup of Golf trophy, with a -20 under par total.

Søren enjoyed the team spirit;

“It’s been an absolutely incredible week, I’ve enjoyed it so much.”

“I’ve enjoyed the camaraderie with Thorbjørn. I’ve been so impressed by his game, his attitude, and I think we’ve had a great time and that reflects in the result.”

“When you’ve got a guy like this on the back nine on Sunday, it’s like you feel you want to die for the guy. It’s different and that’s been really interesting to feel this.”

“I sort of get the sense why teams get so together when they play well. I’ve never really experienced that before this week.”

“I really enjoyed that and that team feeling is amazing. We obviously don’t get that very often.”

Thorbjørn said they had just played their own game, and it worked well;

“It was tough but me and Soren have been great this week with just our mental strength.”

“We’ve been very, very good keeping calm and playing our own game and we’ve both been playing well.”

“So I wasn’t too nervous on that back nine. I felt like we’ve got to make some birdies at some point. They came at the right time.”

“We play different games but I think that’s actually really nice because then we don’t talk too much about the shots with each other, we just play our own shots and I think that helped a lot.”

The French team of Victor Dubuisson and Romian Langasque, -9 under 63 today, shared second place  with China, represented by Ashun Wu and Li Haotong, -7 under 65, and with Team USA, Rickie Fowler and Jimmy Walker, -6 under 66, all at -16 under par for the tournament.

Victor enjoyed a great day;

“It was a great day, I don’t think we can really do any better, nine under is a great score. The pin positions were so difficult.”

“Romain started the round really well, he made some very important putts on the first seven holes which are more difficult, and then I made a good birdie on eight.”

“We were both on the fairways, on the greens, so we had many, many birdie opportunities.”

Romain added;

“I was really under pressure before this week to play with Victor and to play in a big tournament like this one.”

“I’m so happy to finish the tournament with that position, nine under on the last round, that’s amazing.”

Li was disappointed with the final result;

“I kind of feel average because we didn’t play our best again today, even this week.”

“I think we still have a lot of chance to win the trophy in future, so I’m looking forward.”

Leave a Reply

