Alfred Dunhill Championship. Brandon Stone Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Brandon Stone, from South Africa, has the half-way lead at the Alfred Dunhill Championship at Leopard Creek Country Club.

Alfred Dunhill Championship

Brandon Stone / getty

Brandon had a second round -6 under par 66 to lead the Alfred Dunhill Championship by just one shot at the half-way stage with -11 under par.

He woke up this morning with some back pain, but played some spectacular shots and dropping putts;

“I woke up this morning and the back was feeling a little bit sore, and then on the range it didn’t really feel too great either.”

“During the course of the day it progressively got worse and then I had to hit one out of the deep jungle on the right of number eight and really tweaked it.”

“I got some really good physio with my trainer on the ninth. I got the back sorted for a few holes there and it held its nerve for the back nine.”

“I was swinging with a little bit of pain on the back and still hit some spectacular shots.”

“I missed a few opportunities here and there but I also made some great putts again, so it could have been lower, it could have been higher, you don’t really know but I’m very happy with the 66.”

Tied in second place are Charl Schwartzel -4 under 68 today and Chris Hanson. from England, who carded -7 under 65 to be at -10 under for the tournament.

Charl played well again, with a smooth putting stroke;

“Overall I think I played well, I gave myself a fair amount of chances and made some nice bonus putts.

“The stroke’s feeling good, which makes me very comfortable.”

 

Leave a Reply

