Australian PGA Championship. Andrew Dodt Still Leads.

White Dragon Golf

Andrew Dodt still leads the Australian PGA Championship on the Gold Coast.

Australian PGA Championship

Andrew Dodt / getty

Andrew carded -2 under par 70 in the third round of the Australian PGA Championship, to post -14 under par at the top of the leaderboard, a two-stroke advantage going into the final round.

Andrew has won before, but this one would be a wire to wire victory;

“It would be one of my biggest achievements, for sure, I mean, I’ve thought about it a couple of times this week but you don’t want to get ahead of yourself.”

“You just want to play each round.”

“It would be huge. All the top guys have won the Australian PGA, so it would be nice to put my name alongside them.”

“My wins have been from behind so this position is new to me, which is nice, I’m enjoying it. I’m really trying to embrace it and enjoy my time out there on the course.

“The first three rounds are irrelevant now. There are a lot of solid players, world class players behind me, so I’ve got to keep the foot down tomorrow and keep playing the way I’m playing.”

Chasing him down those two shots are Harold Varner 111, -5 under 67 in the third round, and Ashley Hall, -2 under 70, both players sharing second spot at -12 under par.

American Harold will take all the good breaks he can get;

“I need to play some good golf tomorrow, for sure.”

“I’d take a play-off because it means I have a chance. I have to play 18 holes to get there. I’m looking forward to the opportunity.”

 “I finished amazingly well. Eagles are always good and I had two in the last four. I got a little lucky on the 17th because it hit the pin and went in when it could have just as easily bounced off the green.”

“But it was tough out there, when the wind blows hard here you just need to try to hang in there and not make too many mistakes.”

Adam Scott, -2 under 70, and John Senden, -4 under 68 are tied in fourth place at -10 under par.

 

Leave a Reply

