Alfred Dunhill Championship. Brandon Stone Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Brandon Stone wins the Alfred Dunhill Championship, by a massive seven shots at Leopards Creek Country Club in South Africa.

Alfred Dunhill Championship

Brandon Stone / getty

Brandon, a home boy from South Africa,  shot -5 under par 67 in the final round, to win the Alfred Dunhill Championship by a comfortable seven shots, with  -22 under par total;

“To get this win before Christmas is obviously great but more importantly it gets me a good start on the Race to Dubai.”

“Obviously I finished 50th this year and I want to build on that and this is the perfect stepping stone to do that.”

“On the front nine, I was tied for the lead at one stage. But I knew my game plan was to try to get maybe one or two under par through the turn and try to score on the back nine.”

“That was the game plan I set myself on Thursday and that was the game plan I was going to stick to today.”

“I knew I could score and I holed some great putts at the first three holes on that back nine which really got the momentum going.”

“I just played some incredible golf the whole week to be fair.”

“I think my ball striking this week was superb from the first hole to the last.”

“That score that I shot this week – 22 under par around here is not a simple task, to do that is obviously quite something.”

Richard Sterne, also from South Africa, was second, at -15 under par, he carded a last round -5 under 67, which was good enough for second on his own.

In third was German Thomas Detry, his final round -4 under 68 moving him up the leaderboard, to finish with a -13 under total, as all the other possible contestants crumbled away.

Leave a Reply

