Omega Dubai Ladies Masters, 1st Round Finally Completed, Florentyna Parker Leads

 

White Dragon Golf

The Omega Dubai Ladies Masters 1st round has finally been completed, and Florentyna Parker leads at the Majlis Course at Emirates Golf Club.

Omega Dubai Ladies Masters.

Florentyna Parker / getty

Play resumed after the untimely death of a caddie yesterday, and the suspension of the round, and Florentyna, from England, shot -5 under par 67 to lead the Omega Dubai Ladies Masters.

Florentyna, after starting well, sadly finished with a double bogey six, which included a three putt;

“Yesterday I started so well. I had seven birdies on the front nine and gave myself nine chances.”

“The last three years I’ve missed the cut in Dubai and it’s been very disappointing.”

“I was thinking back to 2010, when I finished fourth. I think I started with a five or six-under on the back nine, which was my front nine.”

“And I said, I need to get that feeling back and somehow do the same.”

“It was good that I made back-to-back birdies and obviously I struggled on the last two holes.”

Sophie Giquel-Bettan and Cheyenne Woods share second place, at -4 under par, after their opening rounds of 68.

Cheyenne was extremely happy with her putter performance;

“I thought I played really well, the two nines were a little different.”

“I thought I played a really solid round, hit the ball well and gave myself a lot of chances for birdies and my putter felt great, so I’m really happy with today.”

The Defending Champion, and world number four, Shanshan Feng went round in even par 72, the same score as poor Anne-Lise Caudal, whose caddie,  Max Zechmann, who was only 56 years old, passed away on the course yesterday.

Anne-Lise Caudal's caddie, Max Zechmann (seen at far right), passed away after an apparent heart attack Wednesday. (Associated Press)

Anne-Lise with caddie  Max Zechmann.

This event has been reduced to 54 holes, because of the sad events of yesterday.

Leave a Reply

