UBS Hong Kong Open. Rafa Remains at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

Rafa Cabrera Bello remains at the top of the UBS Hong Kong Open leaderboard at Hong Kong Golf Club.

UBS Hong Kong Open

Rafa Cabrera Bello / getty

Raffa, from Spaincarded -5 under par 65 today to still be leading the UBS Hong Kong Open, with a -11 under par total, and will take a three shot advantage over the field into the week-end.

Rafa has yet to win on Tour since 2012, but has the confidence he will do it soon;

“I know I will win again, I’ve won before. I just need to keep giving myself chances.”

“I have been working on some mistakes that maybe I have done on other occasions.”

“I don’t think I’m doing anything wrong not to get the win, so it will happen. Hopefully it will happen in two days’ time.”

“I managed to play well again, I played solid and put myself in very few risky positions. I felt in control again and just managed to keep up the good work like yesterday.”

“I felt I paid my dues here other years as well, from not knowing the course and not playing it smart enough.”

Sam Brazel, from Australia holds second place at -8 under par, signing for a second round -4 under 66.

Sharing third place at -6 under par are, Tommy Fleetwood, -2 under 68 today, Justin Walters,-3 under 67, Paul Peterson, -2 under 68 and Danny Willett -4 under 66.

Masters Champion Danny had given his aching back a rest recently;

“It’s nice to be in this position after the last few months, but it was nice last week, after DP World we obviously took a couple of weeks off because of the back and stuff and rested it well.”

“Actually took some proper time off, which I’ve not been able to do for a while. That was really nice.”

“Then came out here, probably as fresh as I’ve been for a month and a half, which is nice, and it’s probably showed mentally more than anything. The frustrations, even when you hit bad shots, you don’t let it get to you as much as I did probably in the previous couple of months.”

“We played pretty well yesterday and didn’t take loads of chances and played just nice and steady again today.”

“It’s a golf course where you’ve got to put your ball in position off the tee. You can take a few things on but as soon as you get in the rough around here, you’ve not got much control of your golf ball.”

“The greens are a bit firmer this year and obviously then with a few tight pins, it makes it more difficult.”

Leave a Reply

