Dubai Ladies Masters. Shanshan Feng Wins.

White Dragon Golf

Shanshan Feng wins the Dubai Ladies Masters title, for the fourth time in her career.

Dubai Ladies Masters

Shanshan Feng / getty

Shanshan, from China, took the Emirates Golf Club course apart in the final round of the Dubai Ladies Masters, shooting -8 under par 64, to win the title with her -10 under par total, a two-stroke winning margin;

“I’m really happy that I actually brought out my A Game today.”

“I knew that it was going to be windy today and I knew that playing in the wind is one of my strongest parts.”

“So even though I was five behind, but you know, in the morning, I always thought that maybe I would still have a chance to win this week and I tried my best.”

“Eight under was a pretty good score.”

Charley Hull, from England finished in second place, two shots back at -8 under for the competition. A good final round -7 under par 65 not good enough to win, some putts lipped out;

“It could have been a really good score, from 13, 14, 15, the putts just edged, but my friend texted me this morning.”

“He goes, if you shoot 65 or lower, I’m going to get my kit off by the tree. So I shot 65 or lower, so he’s got to do it now!”

 “Today I kind of woke up and got into my golf game. I’ve been a bit lazy all week I felt on the golf course but today I got in there and kind of concentrated.”

“Today I did and I felt good. I holed a few putts today and I missed a lot of putts, it was on the edge. I hit a lot of good putts out there.”

“Kind of evened itself out. Hit it pretty well, pretty decent and it was really windy today. So I’m quite happy with my score in the conditions.”

Aditi Ashok, -2 under 70 today, the teenager from India, who won the previous two tournaments, came through to share third place with Florentyna Parker from England, who led at the start of play today, but she only posted -1 under 71 in the final round.

Aditi was happy with her result;

“It was pretty solid. I actually didn’t start very well today. I started, I was plus one in the first four holes but in the first four, all four were actually birdie-able with the tailwind. “

So I didn’t really make use of that. I made a par on No. 3, which is playing one shot under compared to the field. That was not so good, but it was better after, the back nine, especially. I shot 2-under on the back nine.”

“I’m happy. I shot two under three days in a row. I feel it was consistent but it could have been better. But there’s always something you can do better every week. So it’s fine. I think I’m tied third right now, so I’m happy with that.”

Florentyna was also happy with her performance overall;

“I struggled on the front nine and was two over and I finished really well, so I was three under for the last five holes. So that was really good.”

“I’m pleased and I’ll take it. I’m going on holiday tomorrow, so that’s perfect for me. I’ve had a great year and eight top tens. I’m really thrilled.”

Leave a Reply

