UBS Hong Kong Open. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the UBS Hong Kong Open leaderboard, Rafa Cabrera Bello, Spain,  has been joined by Sam Brazel, Australia.

UBS Hong Kong Open

Rafa Cabrera Bello / getty

Rafa could only manage a third round of even par 72 in the UBS Hong Kong Open, which allowed Sam Brazel to catch him at the top of the leaderboard. Sam carded -3 under par 67 to be tied at the top with a -11 under par total, at the Hong Kong Golf Club.

Rafa admitted it had been a colorful round;

“Today my score has all colors of the rainbow in it.”

“There’s been a lot of positives and a lot of negatives.”

“I was trying to find a stable day where I was just playing solid like I had these past two days. Staying patient, waiting for the birdies to come and I end up going up and down all day.”

“The best thing is I’m still in it. I’m still leading.”

“Of course it would have been nicer to have a few to spare but I still would have needed to play great tomorrow and I’m still in a position.”

UBS Hong Kong Open

Sam Brazel / getty

Sam is looking for his maiden Tour victory;

“It would mean the world to win.”

“But there’s 18 holes to go and I’m just going to approach it one shot at a time and try and enjoy the moment. Just learn from the experience.”

“I started a little nervous on the first but I guess that’s the situation you’re in. I felt the nerves a little bit at lunch time and just sort of grounded it out and it was fun out there.”

Tommy Fleetwood, from England, is in third place, he scored a third round -3 under par 67, to be at -9 under for the tournament;

“It would be great to win tomorrow, I haven’t won for a long time and it almost feels like I have had a year out of the game because I was playing dreadful from mid-2015 to the middle of this year.”

“I’ve sort of been on a path since August, if you like, getting my game back. I was just playing dreadful. Just rubbish. My game’s been coming back and I’ve had some good results towards the end of the year.”

“I went back to my old coach and I’ve had one of my best mates on the bag since July. Things have just turned around. I’ve worked hard.”

“We had to make some changes and we had to put a lot of hours into it. It began to show and I’ve been having a nice time on the course.”

“Caddie and coach have made the biggest difference and I’ve been enjoying my job again.”

Leave a Reply

