Hong Kong Open. Sam Brazel Has Maiden Tour Win

White Dragon Golf

Sam Brazel. from Australia, has his Maiden European Tour win at the Hong Kong Open, at Hong Kong Golf Club.

Hong Kong Open

Sam Brazel / getty

Sam is no spring chicken, at 38 years old, so where has this cool-headed, competent player been, this is only his ninth European Tour appearance. He won here with a totally smooth performance, sinking a birdie putt on the last green for victory.

Sam carded a final round -2 under par 68 for a Hong Kong Open winning total of -13 under par, and now has full status on the European Tour next year;

“It’s been a long time coming.”

“I’ve been playing good. It’s just been a bit of a struggle with the old irons and my man, Adam, set me up with a new set of bats, and it’s all sort of turned around. This is the fruit.”

“I’d love to come over to Europe. It will be a great privilege.”

 “I was very lucky. That wasn’t the greatest second shot in there but it ended up good and the rest is history.”

“It was a thrill to be out there the last few days. I hope that continues.”

Rafa Cabrera Bello, looked for a long time that he would easily walk away with a victory here, stumbled to a -1 under par last round, giving him second place at -12 under par;

“If you look at it overall, it’s a great week finishing second.”

“Just a little disappointed today. I managed to start good again but then struggled halfway through the front nine.”

“At the end, 16 and 17, they were two great putts that did go in. The one on 18th, almost, as well. In the end, it’s a good week.”

“It’s just a bitter taste finishing runner-up.”

“Sam has played solid golf and been very patient and shown lots of maturity. He’s a well deserved winner.”

Tommy Fleetwood, -2 under 68 today,  and Andrew Dodt, -4 under 66,  tied for third place at -11 under par.

Tommy sadly carded a double bogey seven at the par 5 third, or he would have been right there at the end;

“Today was more of a battle than I wanted it to be, I had four drivers and today I hit three sort of dodgy shots and one of them was the third, made double. From there it was a scrap.”

“But still happy with myself in the end for the way we handled it and the way we played and the way we battled out there. It was great really. Couldn’t ask for much more.”

Andrew played some more good golf, last week he finished second at the Australian PGA Championship;

“It’s been a really solid week, I followed on where I left off from last week. Made a lot of birdies. Made a few mistakes, which you’re going to do around here.”

“I wanted to get off to a good start. That was the goal, to put 2016 season behind me.”

“It wasn’t my best. I wanted to hit the ground running at the PGA and I followed it on up here.”

Leave a Reply

