Tournament of Champions. Jimmy Walker Leads the Way

White Dragon GolfT of C

Jimmy Walker leads the way after the first round of the SBS Tournament of Champions at the Kapalua Plantation course in Hawaii.

Shorter driver, better results for Walker

Jimmy Walker / getty

Jimmy shortened his driver shaft to 42 inches, to get control, and it certainly  helped as he carded -8 under par 65 to lead the Tournament of Champions by two shots in Hawaii;

“I just feel like I’ve got more control. I feel like the golf swing is better at that length for me, and that’s where I’ve always struggled, the longer the club got.”

“So that’s the thinking. More fairways is what I’m looking for.”

“Last year I didn’t drive it as well as I would have liked to have.” 

“So I just kind of got to thinking. It was just kind of an experiment. I decided to cut one down and threw some tape on it and liked it.”

“It looks weird and sometimes it feels a little weird on the golf course, but I’ve been playing with it for about three weeks at home.”

“I’ve since had Titleist make me a new one at that length, and I’ve been enjoying hitting it.”

Jim Herman, Justin Thomas and Ryan Moore all share second place, those two shots back at -6 under par, following their opening efforts of 67.

Ryan was  -4 under par through just five holes, without making  birdie. A hole out Eagle on the par four 3rd, was followed by another Eagle on the par five 5th, making a great putt;

“I don’t think I’ve ever been four under through five holes or whatever and not make a birdie.”

“It was nice to hole out on three, and then hit a great shot there into the par five, and was able to knock that putt in. Yeah, nice way to start the year.”

It took Jim a long time to make it onto the PGA Tour, a helping hand from Donald Trump made all the difference;

“He’s the same guy to me, but now I get to call him Mr. President.”

“I’d like to say that I always believed it but it’s a pretty long way from being assistant pro to a tournament winner on the PGA TOUR.”

“Obviously, it’s attainable and I hope everyone that’s out there grinding and trying knows that they can do it; if I did it, anybody can.”

“Did I ever think I would be here at that time, 2005? This is a long way from there, 12 years.”

 

 

Leave a Reply

