Tournament of Champions. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon GolfT of C

Two players are tied at the top of the Tournament of Champions leaderboard after the second round at Kapalua Plantation course in Hawaii. Ryan Moore and Justin Thomas share the lead by one shot over the field.

Tournament of Champions

Ryan Moore / getty

Ryan shot another -6 under par 67 in the second round of the Tournament of Champions to share top honors with Justin at -12 under par;

“If I’m at a golf tournament, I’m here to golf and I’m here to play a golf tournament.”

“Doesn’t mean I can’t go hang out with my son and play on the beach for a few minutes afterward, but I’m not going to do anything to wear myself out and exhaust myself so the next day I’m tired on the golf course.”

“Everything I do, and all the decisions I make, are to play a tournament. But it is easy to let that other side of it happen.” 

Justin also carded a second successive -6 under 67 to share the top spot at -12 under par, and likes the odds on winning;

“I just prepared, actually, this year.”

“I obviously practiced and prepared last year, but I just didn’t as much as I should have.”

“I didn’t take it like a normal event. I mean, this is a great, great opportunity to win a golf tournament.”

“This is your best chance, you would say. Obviously, the winners, they are all great players, but I’ll take my chances over 32 versus 144 every single week.”

“I feel like I’m to the point where I should be contending most of the weeks I play.”

Patrick Reed, and yesterdays leader Jimmy Walker are tied in third place, just one shot back at -11 under par.

Patrick has not been feeling too well, but a -8 under 65, and good putting will soon make you feel better;

“I learned a lot from yesterday. With not feeling well yesterday, I tried to hit some full shots and unfortunately with being under the weather, you just don’t have complete control over your body.”

“So what I made sure I did today is I made sure I didn’t swing harder than 90 percent on anything, and because of that, I had a lot more control and had a feel of where the club was and had a lot more quality looks at putts on the greens.”

“Any time you have shorter putts, you’re going to make some more putts.”

Jimmy carded -3 under 70 today, and had to be patient, not making many putts;

“I stayed patient, nothing really kind of happening, I hit a lot of good shots, just didn’t make many putts. Hit a lot of lips, had a couple of horse shoes, and lip outs.”

“Three under, its great, I’ll take it.”

 

Leave a Reply

