Tournament of Champions. Justin Thomas Day Three Leader.

White Dragon GolfT of C

Justin Thomas is the day 3 leader of the SBS Tournament of Champions in Hawaii.

FedExCup showdown set for Sunday

Justin Thomas/ getty

Justin shot a third consecutive round of -6 under 67 to have the 54 hole lead in the Tournament of Champions at the Kapalua Plantation course, posting -18 under par.

Sunday will be a shoot out between the FedExCup number 1 and 2, with Hideki Matsuyama just two shots back at -16 under par. He carded -7 under par 66 to move into contention, and has been the hottest player on tour lately.

Justin was happy to be paired with Hideki;

“If I’m near Hideki in the tournament, that’s usually, probably a pretty good thing on Sunday.”

“He’s obviously a tremendous player and he’s on an unbelievable run here the last five events.”

The last time the pair met on a Sunday Justin took the honors, Hideki knows he will have to go low to win;

“Justin doesn’t have any weaknesses at all in his game.”

“He hits it long, has a marvelous short game, putts well, hits the ball well.”

“We’ve got to go low tomorrow to be able to catch him.”

Two strokes further back, at -14 under par are Ryan Moore, -2 under 71 today, Jimmy Walker, -3 under 70, and William McGirt who carded -7 under par 66.

William is putting well, needing only 28 putts in the third round;

“I’ve hit it really well this week. Finally made some putts today. I struggled sort of the first couple days with the grain in these greens.”

“I think yesterday, I could have putted better blindfolded. It was ugly up until the very end.”

“It seems like all the greens and grain, once it starts breaking and starts losing speed, that it really goes at that point.”

“You’ve got to really keep the pace up on it.”

“That’s not the way I like to putt. I like to die putts in there, but you kind of have to change your approach this week and kind of bang them in.”

Jimmy Walker has not putted well;

“Just didn’t make the putts I needed to make. Hit it really good. Plenty of looks. Nothing went in. That’s just kind of frustrating, especially the finish.”

“Speed was a little off. Keeps coming up short a little bit. I feel like it may have slowed down a little but that’s just me.”

“I’m hitting the putts the way I feel like I need to hit them. They are just not going in.”

 Also struggling with putting is World number 1 Jason Day, currently T 8 at -11 under par, he carded – 3 under 70 today;

“It’s everything; I’m struggling to really start my ball on the line I’m picking.”

“It’s very difficult to know where I’m aiming and it’s difficult to hole putts.”

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

