Tournament of Champions. Justin Thomas Wins.

White Dragon GolfT of C

Justin Thomas wins the SBS Tournament of Champions, his second win of the 2016/17 season.

Thomas conquers Kapalua

Winner Justin Thomas / getty

Justin carded a final round -4 under par 69 to win the SBS Tournament of Champions on the Plantation Course at Kapalua, Hawaii. His winning total of -22 under par gave him a three shot victory.

Justin worked hard to get his three career wins, watching others get ahead spurned him on;

“I think it drove me a lot. I wasn’t mad, but it was maybe a little frustrating sometimes seeing some friends and peers my age do well.” 

“Not because I wasn’t cheering for them because I feel like I was as good as them.”

“It’s just immature of me. I mean, the fact of the matter is, over the course of a long career, we’re going to beat each other. That’s just how it is.”

“I think now, I feel so much more comfortable. I really do. Maybe the first time in Malaysia when I won, I was maybe kind of like, what am I doing here, but now it’s like, okay, I belong here, I should be here.”

“I still have plenty of other goals that I would like to achieve and stuff that’s over the long-term, the course of the year.”

“I’m going to have to regroup and focus on next week, because next week is a course that I really like and I feel like another good opportunity for me to be in the hunt and have a chance to win.”

“I think that’s where I’m growing a little bit more in that it’s week-to-week. It’s not looking at previous weeks when I’m at a tournament or looking at following events when I’m at a tournament; it’s I am focusing on that week.”

“And once it’s over, take the positives, try to blow over the negatives and go on to the next.”

Claiming second place was Hideki Matsuyama, from Japan, at -19 under par for the tournament, -3 under par 70 today was not what he was looking for, his poor putting taking the blame;

“Justin had a little trouble at fifteen and then I was really in it. But my putter let me down there at 16, 17 and 18.”

“I tipped my hat to Justin. He played well all day long. Had a little hiccup there at 15, but I just say congratulations to him. He deserved it.”

Third place was shared between Jordan Spieth, -8 under 65 today, Pat Perez -6 under 67, and Ryan Moore with -2 under 71, all finished with -16 under par totals.

Leave a Reply

