BMW SA Open. Two Tied at the Top.

White Dragon Golf

There are two players tied at the top of the BMW SA Open, local players Trevor Fisher Jnr and Keith Horne lead after the first round in South Africa, but Rory McIlroy is right behind them.

BMW SA Open

Rory McIlroy / getty

Trevor and Keith both carded first rounds of -6 under par 66 to lead the BMW SA Open, which is hosted by the City of Ekurhuleni.

Trevor admitted he hit a few bad shots, and can improve on that opening score;

“I hit some bad shots but I hit some good shots too and the ball really went where I wanted it to go with the good shots.”

“With my bad shots I mistimed it but, in general, I was quite happy with the way I hit it.”

“I can still improve it a bit. I’ve just got to trust what I’m doing. It’s quite a change for me.”

“Old habits die hard. I’ve just got to figure out a way to trust this and keep it going for the next three days.”

Keith said he needs to sort out his driver, but his putting was good;

“You know, I wasn’t playing that well coming in, I’ve been playing really well until the holidays but my practice rounds here didn’t promise very much so it’s nice to get off to such a good start. In contention, first out, I can’t complain.”

“I hit my irons beautifully today and I putted well. You know my putting hasn’t been great and today was nice.”

“I really struggled with the driver today and I think if I’m going to be in contention on the weekend, I am going to have to sort out my game off the tee box.”

Rory is tied in third place with four other players, all with rounds of -5 under 67, and said he was pleased with his effort, and he can go lower;

“Yeah, it was good, the first competitive round of 2017. I’m quite pleased.”

“I felt like I gave myself a lot of chances on our front nine, the back nine. That four under could have been probably six or seven but it was a really good way to start.”

“It was a bit scrappy in places around the last few holes but five under par is a good way to start to start this tournament.”

“Weather-wise, not much wind, there was a score to be had out there. I think 67 I am pleased with but I feel that if we get conditions like that for the rest of the week I can definitely go lower.”

Nick Faldo is in the field, shooting -2 under par 70, and is trying to make the cut;

“I know what I can do and how to do it but actually doing it is hard work.”

“I have been working on my swing which is this little fade and I am basically testing myself to see if I can do it for the whole round.”

“I would love to make the cut, that was the first goal.”

Leave a Reply

