Sony Open. Justin Thomas Jumps Ahead With a 59.

White Dragon GolfSony Open in Hawaii

Justin Thomas jumps ahead, with a scorching round of 59 at the Sony Open in Hawaii, claiming three a shot lead following the first round in Honolulu, at Waialae Country Club.

Justin Thomas shows off the Titleist ProV1x he used to shoot 59 Thursday at Waialae. (Sam Greenwood/Getty Images)

 

Justin Thomas / getty

Justin became the youngest player in PGA TOUR history to break 60, sinking a 15 foot putt for Eagle on the last, to card -11 under par 59, with a bogey on the card;

“It means a lot. Any time you’re in history in any sport or whatever you’re doing, it’s a good thing.”

 “I wasn’t thinking a lot. I was just really more focused on trying to make the putt.”

“Obviously I knew what it meant if I made it, and that was the first time I had a putt at 59.

“I was like, well, who knows when this is going to happen again, I may as well try and knock it in. I hit a great putt.”

“I was calm, I wasn’t too nervous over the putt.”

“So I need to get ready to get my mind ready and my game, try to keep it sharp to try to post another good one tomorrow.”

 In second place is Hudson Swafford, -8 under 62 would normally put you at the top of the leaderboard, but not today.
Rory Sabbatini, from South Africahas third place, he shot -7 under par 63, the first time in a while that he has been that far up a leaderboard.
This is just the first round, it will be interesting to see what happens tomorrow, will Justin move further ahead, or will he be caught at the top? Whats your thoughts?

 

 

 

2 thoughts on “Sony Open. Justin Thomas Jumps Ahead With a 59.

Leave a Reply

