Sony Open. Justin Has New 36 Hole Record.

White Dragon GolfSony Open in Hawaii

Justin Thomas has the  new 36 hole record for the PGA Tour of -17 under par, set at the Sony Open on the Waialae  Country Club course.

 

Thomas sets 36-hole record

Justin Thomas / getty

Justin had a second round -6 under 64 and has a five shot lead at the top of the Sony Open leaderboard after 36 hole, with a -17 under par total courtesy of an Eagle at the last hole;

“It’s cool, just like yesterday, anytime you can get your name in the record book, it’s awesome. I had no idea until I finished.”

Gary Woodland holds second place, five shots back at -12 under par. He shot another round of -6 under 64 today, and only used the Driver a couple of times, preferring to hit three wood and find the fairways;

“I did that my first couple times here and that didn’t work out for me.”

“I’m very comfortable with where my game is.”

“Driver feels great, I just don’t get many opportunities out there. I’m not complaining about being in the fairway, either.”

Sharing third place at -10 under par are Hudson Swafford, -2 under 68 today, Justin Rose, -6 under 64, and Zach Johnson, who carded -9 under 61.

Justin Rose knows it is hard to keep up that kind of momentum that Justin Thomas has at the moment;

“You definitely need the mindset when you’re that far ahead to keep the accelerator down.”

 “But it’s hard to keep that sort of momentum going, for sure.”  

Jordan Spieth is back at T8, his second round -3 under 67 was blamed on a cold putter;

“Just have a really cold putter this week.”

“I think it added to the frustration on the green, because the game is looking so easy to him.”

“I felt like I was hitting the ball in the same location, I’m just being outdone on the green. That’s something a little abnormal to me.”

 

Leave a Reply

