BMW SA Open. Graeme Storm In Cruise Control.

White Dragon Golf

Graeme Storm is in cruise control at the BMW SA Open, and will take a three shot lead into the final round tomorrow at the Glendower Golf Club in South Africa.

BMW SA Open

Graeme Storm / getty

Graeme shot a third round -5 under par 67 to stay in control  of the BMW AS Open with a 54 hole total of -17 under par. He will of course be very aware that Rory McIlroy holds second place at -14 under par, he too had -5 under 67 today.

Graeme is hoping to claim his second European Tour title, and is still making putts;

“I am just really pleased that I kept the momentum from yesterday and played really nicely and holed some good putts.”

“I find myself now in a position that I have only been in a couple of times over the past few years.”

“Things have been difficult and last year was a tough year but it has given me a new lease of life and I hope to continue playing well.”

“I thought I had lost my card and all of the privileges that come from playing on the European Tour and when that happens you realise that you can’t afford to lose it.”

“I have never played with Rory before and I know him really well so it will be a lot of fun.”

“If he hits a good shot and pips me or beats me comfortably or whoever makes a move from behind I can’t really control that.”

“All I can do is control my golf ball, I can’t control anyone else’s.”

“If I can shoot another score in the 60s I’ll be pleased even if I don’t win. I have come here as a big underdog so that is fine with me.”

Rory McIlroy (Getty Images)

Rory / getty

Rory wants a fast start tomorrow, and hopes to apply some pressure;

“I started well, I felt like I drove the ball well today for the most part and gave myself plenty of chances.”

“I took quite a few of them, especially in the middle of the round like I did yesterday as well, so it was a decent score.”

“I felt like it could have been a couple better. The finish was disappointing, not birdieing the 15th and dropping a shot on the way in but I’m still in with a shout going into tomorrow and that’s all I can ask for.”

“I’d like to be a few shots better or at least a few shots closer to the lead. Hopefully I can get off to a good start tomorrow and put a bit of pressure on Graeme and it will be interesting.”

Sharing third place are, Jbe Kruger, -3 under 69 today, and Jordan L Smith, -4 under 68, with -13 under par totals.

Leave a Reply

