BMW SA Open. Graeme Beats Rory, in a Play-Off.

White Dragon Golf

Graeme Storm beat Rory McIlroy in a play-off for the BMW SA Open title at Glendower Golf Club in South Africa.

 BMW SA Open

Graeme & BMW SA Open Trophy / getty

Graeme shot a final round -1 under par 71, to be tied at the top of the BMW SA Open leaderboard with Rory McIlroy, -4 under 68 today. Both players were on -18 under par for the tournament, and a play-off began. It took three play-off holes, the par four 18th each time, before Graeme claimed the title, Rory carding a bogey third time around.

Graeme said after his second win on Tour;

“I am speechless. It’s been incredible and I can’t quite believe it.”

“This is a dream come true, especially after what happened to me last year with my card and everything.”

“I really took a lot from that experience and told myself to try and grasp the opportunity of getting my livelihood back with both hands and I have done that this week.”

“It’s an unbelievable feeling. I hung in there today and didn’t play my best stuff but I knew if I could hang in there that I might get my chance and thankfully it came.”

“It really means everything to me to be in the winner’s circle again.”

“I have been to hell and back to be honest with you. It’s been an absolute rollercoaster over the last year and a half, especially the end of last year.”

“There was pressure today but not the same pressure as trying to keep your European Tour card. That’s real pressure and something I don’t want to feel for a long time.”

Rory is sad that he lost, but happy with his start to the season;

BMW SA Open

Rory / getty

“I wish I could have done a little more but it’s not a bad way to start the season and gives me something to build on in the weeks ahead.”

“I am going for a scan tomorrow, I fly to Dubai tonight and then will go for an MRI tomorrow just to see what’s up with this joint in my back.”

“It was manageable this week with tape and a few pills so I am fine but first and foremost I have to get fully fit and healthy again and hopefully I’ll be alright to play next week.”

Jordan L Smith finished third, at -17 under par, a -4 under par 68 final round giving him that position on his own, an experience he would like to achieve again;

“That was insane, like nothing I have experienced in my life and I absolutely loved it. I am very pleased.”

“I was very, very nervous at the start of the round so to make those (early) putts was a big help and really settled me into the round.”

“It was just such an amazing experience today, especially coming up the last hole there. Honestly it was just insane.”

“I am absolutely delighted with the week overall. I would have loved to have won but I got myself into contention and looking forward this experience will be invaluable for my future.”

“I just can’t wait to play in front of crowds like this again. This has exceeded all of my expectations ahead of the week. I knew I was playing well and was confident coming here but I didn’t expect to end up in this situation.”

Leave a Reply

