Sony Open. Justin Duly Wins at the Big “W”

White Dragon GolfSony Open in Hawaii

Justin Thomas duly wins in Hawaii at the Sony Open at the Big “W” the Waialae Golf Club.

Sony Open

Justin Thomas / getty

Justin shot a final round -5 under par 65 to win the Sony Open by seven shots, at -27 under par. This week he lead wire to wire, carded a 59, set a new low scoring PGA Tour record. This stat will amaze you, in 2017 Justin is -49 under par for eight rounds !!!

Justin said he was nervous at the start of play today and a good par saving putt early on settled him down;

“It’s been an unbelievable week.”

“It was really hard. I was really nervous this morning. I just had a hard time getting in a comfortable mind frame.”

“I felt like I was doing what I needed to do early. I was making some pars, besides that bad bogey on four, but that par putt on six was huge.”

“I think if I miss that I start maybe worrying a little bit. I just tried to stay patient.”

Justin Rose claimed second place at -20 under, following his last round -6 under par 64.

Jordan Spieth grabbed third place, a final round -7 under par 63 elevating up the leaderboard, to finish with a -19 under par total.

Jordan was full of praise for Justin Thomas;

“I was telling caddie Michael Greller out there, honestly it felt like we were playing a different tournament.”

“I honestly felt like I was trying to win the tournament for second place. J.T. just pretty unbelievable what he’s doing right now.”

“He’s got full control of his game, full confidence, and he’s executing under pressure. It’s a lot of fun to see.

“I wouldn’t say a good player that’s hot, and I wouldn’t say it’s birth of a guy either. I would say it’s just a tremendous player who’s already been at that level, just takes winning a couple of times, I think.”

 

Leave a Reply

