Career Builder Challenge. TOUR rookie Dominic Bozzelli Leads.

White Dragon GolfCareerBuilder

PGA TOUR rookie Dominic Bozzelli leads the Career Builder Challenge at La Quinta Country Club, California, on the Stadium Course at PGA WEST.

Bozzelli leads at PGA WEST

Dominic Bozzelli / getty

Dominic carded a first round -8 under par 64 on the more difficult Stadium Course to lead the Career Builder Challenge, in cold and wet conditions;

“Been working hard back home, doing all right things on and off the course, and it’s nice to come out and have that hard work pay off.”

In second place on the leaderboard are four players at -7 under par, Patton Kizzire and Jhonattan Vegas -7 under par 65 on the Tournament Course, Hudson Swafford, and Harold Varner 111, 65 at La Quinta.

Making it’s debut on the PGA Tour, was Phil Mickelson’s new “Jumping Logo” reminding us of  his leaping celebration in the 2004 Masters.

Phil Mickelson plays his shot from the third tee during the first round of the CareerBuilder Challenge in Partnership with The Clinton Foundation at La Quinta Country Club on January 19, 2017 in La Quinta, California. (Photo by Harry How/Getty Images)

Phil hit a poor first tee shot, not in any real trouble, but he decided to hit a provisional, just to warm up his swing for the next tee. Phil is coming back to golf after surgery, and said he is feeling fine, shooting a first round -4 under 68 at La Quinta, to be T25;

“I feel fine,” I’ve been able to work out the last two weeks. And again, you start out real slow, but you get back to it, you get it back pretty quick.”

“I struck it horrible, but I scored out of my mind.”

“So, I’m very happy with it. My first round of golf was Saturday and I’ve been able to work out just the last two weeks.”

“That next hole, the second hole’s an extremely difficult drive and I wanted to just get another swing.”

“It was really a great day for me because I scored so much better than I played.”

 “And when I finally did hit some really good shots I ended up close and made a few birdies.”

“And when I hit some really bad shots, and I hit some really bad shots,  I was still able to salvage some up-and-downs for pars.”

Leave a Reply

