Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship. Martin Kaymer Has 36 Hole Lead

White Dragon Golf

Martin Kaymer has the 36 hole lead at the Abu Dhabi Championship in the Emirates.

Abu Dhabi

Martin Kaymer / getty

Martin shot a consecutive -6 under par 66 in the second round of the Abu Dhabi Championship, to lead the tournament by one stroke at -12 under, on his favorite golf course, making putts;

“I don’t try to push, I just try to enjoy playing my favourite golf course.”

“So pushing, I have that experience with pushing.”

“I felt like I played a little bit better than yesterday. It was a bit more difficult today with the wind, especially the first nine. I struck the ball a little bit better and I made a few long putts today, same as yesterday.”

 “Once in a while when a putt drops in you catch momentum and you can make another three or four birdies coming in, like it happened today.”

“I think I made only two pars on the back nine.”

Rafa Cabrera Bello is in second place at -11 under par, he also carded -6 under par 66 today.

Tied in third place are Paul Dunn, -6 under 66 today, Kiradech Aphibarnrat, -4 under 68 and Tommy Fleetwood, -5 under 67. they are all on -10 under par for the tournament.

Tommy was glad to have rediscovered his best golf;

“Got my game back and now it’s sort of, get results. I’ve played two good rounds of golf but we’ll stick at this. It’s nice to start off with two good rounds for the year.”

Paul feels his game is in good shape;

“It’s good, my game feels in good shape. I’m hitting a lot of good iron shots and giving myself a lot of chances.”

Kiradech has also had a good start to the season, and is making putts;

“It’s been great, it’s a very good start to the 2017 season.”

“I had a couple of good up-and-downs and a lot of good putts today.”

 

Leave a Reply

