Career Builder Challenge.Hudson Swafford Leads.

White Dragon GolfCareerBuilder

Hudson Swafford has the 36 hole lead  at the Career Builder Challenge in California, in pouring rain.

Career Builder Challenge

Hudson Swafford / getty

Hudson carded a bogey free second round -7 under par 65, on the Tournament Course, to lead the Career Builder Challenge with a -14 under par total.

Hudson said he was just seeking birdie chances;

 “What we’ve been harping on the last two tournaments is giving ourselves as many chances as possible.”

“You just get yourself in position and give yourself the best chance on every hole.”

“Easier said than done. I’m not trying to get caught up on the perfect number, just trying to give myself the best opportunity for birdie on that hole.” 

“Getting myself up on the top of the leaderboard a lot more and getting more and more comfortable with that.”

“You’ve gotta put yourself in that position to feel what’s going on up there. I’ve done it a lot lately and starting to just get more confident in that position.”

Tied in second place at -13 under par are, yesterdays leader Dominic Bozzelli, -5 under today at La Quinta, and Danny Lee, from New Zealand, who fired -8  under par 64 at La Quinta.

Danny is happy with the rain, they get plenty of it in New Zealand;

“I actually wanted to play in the rain, so I could experiment with myself.”

“Hopefully, it rains tomorrow.”

 “Trying to not shoot something overly ridiculous, since I’m playing with the amateurs.”

“Just trying to break 80, seriously.”

Dominic made a lot of putts for par saves;

“It wasn’t my best today, but I was able to save par, made some pretty big par saves throughout the round and kept it going.”

 “Actually, pretty lucky that weather held off a little bit longer than I thought it would.”

Phil Mickelson played in full rain gear the last few holes, playing some great shots, but still throwing in some bad ones; carding -6 under 66 on the Tournament Course, to be T6 at -10 under par for the competition;

“I hit a lot more good shots today than I did yesterday, but I’m still hitting some really bad ones.”

“And that’s fine. It’s to be expected. I knew that was going to happen, but I’ve been able to kind of manage those and get away with some pars.”

 

Leave a Reply

