Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship. Tyrrell Hatton Has 54 Hole Lead

White Dragon Golf

Tyrrell Hatton has the 54 hole lead in the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship in the Emirates.

 Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship

Tyrrell Hatton / getty

Tyrrell shot third round -4 under par 68 to claim the 54 hole lead in the  Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, with a -13 under par total, which gives him a one shot advantage going into the final round tomorrow.

Tyrrell reported that he focused well on his game and putted well;

“The big names are up there so I’ve just got to focus on my game and try and play as well as I can.”

“I love this place. It’s one of my favourite events of the year so hopefully I can go out there tomorrow and have a good day.”

“I had a little bit of a slow start. Struggled a little bit on the greens today, just not quite starting the ball on the lines I wanted to.”

“But I holed a couple of good putts in the end on the back nine and hopefully that will give me some momentum going into tomorrow.”

“It’s a little bit of a surprise to see where I’m at this week but very happy with one round to go.”

There are some big names tied in second place at -12 under par, US Open Champion Dustin Johnson, -8 under 64 today, three-time winner here Martin Kaymer, with a disappointing par round of 72, Tommy Fleetwood and Kiradech Aphibarnrat, both carding -2 under 70, and 2014 winner Pablo Larrazábal, -3 under 69.

Dustin was happy to finally get a good nights sleep;

“Finally I got a good night’s sleep”

“I even got up and went to the gym this morning before I teed off. Definitely by far the best day I’ve been feeling out on the golf course.”

“You know, I just felt the swing, my body was moving a lot better. I swung it a lot better, especially with the driver. I drove it a lot better today.”

“I hit a lot more fairways today than I have been. Holed a few putts. I still have yet to birdie a par five but I did make an eagle on eight today, I chipped one in. But yeah, it was a really solid round.”

“I started eight shots behind, so I know I’ve got to post a really good score today and I’m going to have to shoot another really good score tomorrow if I want any chance to win this tournament.”

Leave a Reply

