Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship. Tommy Fleetwood Wins

White Dragon Golf

Tommy Fleetwood wins the Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship on a day of tough scoring and horrible gusting winds at Abu Dhabi Golf Club in the Emirates.

Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship.

Tommy Fleetwood / getty

Tommy carded a last round -5 under par 67 to win the  Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship, with a -17 under par total and a one shot victory. It has been three years since his last win;

“I thought maybe the second win would come sooner to be honest.”

“It’s been a massive comeback.”

“I made it up to Finn, who has been caddying for me, one of my best mates. We made the switch and not a lot of people thought it would work and we proved them all wrong. It feels great.”

“I had a really hard time from July 2015 to July last year where I really struggled with my game. It’s been an awkward curve.”

“The only thing left was ‘let’s get a win’ but, you know, you keep knocking on the door and it will come. I didn’t really think it would be this week. It just shows a lot can happen in golf.”

“I just thought, keep going, you never know. It’s a tough day really.”

“The pins are tucked away and it’s very windy, especially at the start. The chip-in on ten, birdie on 11, changed everything all of a sudden from nowhere and I was leading.”

Sharing second place were Pablo Larrazábal, -4 under par 68 today and Dustin Johnson, also -4 under 68, both finishing with -16 under par totals.

The hard work continues for Larrazábal Pablo had an up and down day with the putter;

“Holing some putts, holing the chip-in on 14, I tried to stay with the pace but three bogeys on Sunday afternoon is too many.”

“The three-putt on six killed me a little bit but I’m very proud of the way I played. It was very fun, I had a lot of fun.”

“The only thing I have to do is keep working hard, keep working the same way we’ve been working during the winter and this week and try to make sure I do my best next week.”

“We’ve been working very hard and we’re going to keep working the same way to keep pushing in tournaments like this.”

“I gave it my best, I never gave up and obviously I didn’t play my best but I tried my best.”

Abu Dhabi HSBC Championship day four - What they said Dustin said he just did not roll in any putts, missing one on the 17th made winning impossible;

“It was a pretty good week. Obviously I got off to a rough start the first day, didn’t play very well, wasn’t feeling that great the first day.”

“But then I came back and played well Friday, Saturday and Sunday. All in all, it was a solid day.”

“It was windy out there, it’s playing a little bit tougher today. I felt like I struck the ball well and gave myself plenty of opportunities,”

“I just didn’t roll any putts in. I knew I had a chance. I needed to make that putt on 17. I knew I needed to go three-three-three to have a chance but Tommy ended up birdieing the last hole. Obviously that took it out of reach.”

Leave a Reply

