Farmers Insurance Open. Justin Rose Leads.

 

White Dragon GolfFarmers Insurance Open Logo

Justin Rose leads the Farmers Insurance Open after the first round at Torrey Pines in California.Justin Rose shot 65 on the North Course during Round 1 of the Farmers Insurance Open. (Jeff Gross/Getty Images)

Justin Rose / getty

Justin carded a first round -7 under par 65, on the North Course, to lead the Farmers Insurance Open, making some putts along the way, with two Eagles in his last three holes;

“It can be a tricky week here.”

“The South Course is really tough and if you don’t go low on the North Course you are going to feel like you’re behind.”

“But I’ve been making some putts and I drove the ball really well, especially on the par fives.”

Adam Hadwin, last weeks 59 man claimed second place with an opening round -6 under 66, on the South Course, and was happy with the result;

“I don’t want to say it was as good as a 59, but it was pretty darn good.”

Five players share third place at -5 under par, Gary Woodland, Charles Howell 111, Beau Hossler and Trey Mullinex all shot -5 under 67 on the North Course, while Brad Fritsch carded -5 under 67 on the South Course.

The much acclaimed return of Tiger Woods to the Tour, sadly unraveled as he carded +4 over par 76 on the South Course, and is now in danger of missing the cut here, which would be the first time in his career, not a milestone he was thinking of when he started out today. He blamed the slow play and cooler conditions than he was used to;

“We were playing so much slower today than I’m used to. ‘

 ‘It was weird waiting that much. I’m not used to doing that at home where I guess we’re kind of flying a little quicker than this. It was just a different rhythm.”

” It’s much cooler than what we have at home,  I’m just trying to get used to a little bit of this.”

“I fought my tail off out there, I fought hard. It was nice to put together a round when I wasn’t hitting it that great early.”

“I was in a good spot to really shoot a good round today.”

“I didn’t really have my best stuff early, but I got through there. And that’s one of the positives I’m going to take out of it.”

 

Leave a Reply

