Qatar Masters. Bradley Dredge 1st Round Leader

White Dragon Golf

Bradley Dredge is the 1st round leader of the Qatar Masters, at Doha Golf Club.

Qatar Masters

Bradley Dredge / getty

Bradley, from Wales, opened his Commercial Bank Qatar Masters account with a first round -8 under par 64, to lead by one shot.

Helping Bradley to the top of the leaderboard was a good putting display;

“I’m delighted with the score today. A bit surprised, I thought I was going to hit the ball a bit better off the tee than I did but I hit a few more fairways. I putted really well.”

“I understood that today, scoring was going to be good, it was the opportunity to go at more flags and get the ball a bit closer to the hole.”

“Without the wind, it sort of makes it a lot easier to get the score going and get the putts in and get in with some sort of number.”

“I prefer it a little bit more windy. I’m a bit more used to playing the wind, I suppose.”

“I quite like it and I get used to it around here as well. It’s quite a good challenge. The greens are always firm, so it’s always tough to get the ball close to the hole.”

Mikko Korhonen, from Finland holds second place, just that one shot back at -7 under par, following his first round of 65;

“I thought I would probably have a chance today because it’s definitely the most calm day I’ve seen here.”

“I hit it pretty solid off the tee and irons as well. I didn’t make too many mistakes. I hit it in the rough a couple of times and it’s not easy.”

“I’d have to say, it’s more difficult than past years. I made a few putts, a few long ones and didn’t miss any short ones. That’s basically it.”

 Kiradech Aphibarnrat, Thailand, Nathan Kimsey, England, and Graeme McDowell, Northern Ireland, are all tied in third place at -6 under par, with rounds of 66.

 

 

Leave a Reply

